Funds Available Through NCHFA for Disaster Home Repair

— Written By

Funds Available for Disaster Home Repair

North Carolinians whose homes were damaged by certain natural disasters in 2016 may be eligible for repair assistance. The North Carolina Housing Finance Agency is providing $15 million to local organizations for the rehabilitation of owner-occupied homes in 49 disaster-affected counties.

Eligible households must have incomes below 100% of their area’s median and must have been damaged by Hurricane Matthew and Tropical Storms Julia and Hermine as listed in the state’s Disaster Recovery Act of 2016. The funding is available in Anson, Beaufort, Bertie, Bladen, Brunswick, Camden, Carteret, Chatham, Chowan, Columbus, Craven, Cumberland, Currituck, Dare, Duplin, Edgecombe, Franklin, Gates, Greene, Halifax, Harnett, Hertford, Hoke, Hyde, Johnston, Jones, Lee, Lenoir, Martin, Montgomery, Moore, Nash, New Hanover, Northampton, Onslow, Pamlico, Pasquotank, Pender, Perquimans, Pitt, Richmond, Robeson, Sampson, Scotland, Tyrrell, Wake, Washington, Wayne and Wilson counties.

Assistance is provided through local governments or nonprofit agencies. The local organizations determine homeowners’ eligibility and then contract for and supervise the work. Homeowners seeking assistance can find a participating organization in their area at